Eight Sailors are set to take part in the Volvo Ocean Race 2017-2018 for AkzoNobel when it kicks off in October later this year. The team will be in good hands with four previous race winners making up the line-up, including Brad Jackson, Chuny Bermudez, Joca Signorini and Jules Salter.

Between them, they have amassed six victories. The crew also consists of Olympic silver medallist from the Netherlands Annemieke Bes, as well Aussie Luke Milloy, Dane Nicolai Sehested and Kiwi Brad Farrand. The shore based support team consists of Bryce Ruthenberg and Eduard van Lierde. Both are experienced sailors and will be filling in, in the case of any injury or sickness.

Commenting on the announcement, AkzoNobel CEO Ton Büchner said: “The Volvo Ocean Race is a wonderful showcase for the unrivalled quality and high performance of our products, so it’s important this is reflected in the team itself. Simeon has assembled an outstanding mixed crew of real pedigree which is fully committed to winning together and we are proud to have them on board.”

Simeon Tienpont, Team AkzoNobel

For more information, visit AkzoNobel

Source link

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!